God in our decisions

Recently I’ve been thinking a lot about the future. One part of my mind knows that I should not worry- as Jesus said ‘And He said unto his disciples, Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat; neither for the body, what ye shall put on’ (Like 12:22)- there is still a large part that stays up at night thinking of coulds and woulds. I know this is evidence that I have not yet fully given all my trust to God, but yesterday I realized it was something else also.
I consider myself to be an intellectual person, and while I realize that is not necessarily a good thing, I also know that it’s a pet of myself I’m not quite willing to let go of yet (but I’m working on it!). Now I have come to a point in my life where I am looking to go into Tertiary education, this intellectual part of me seems to be much more prevalent than usual. I admit that I have spent time researching many schools and their rankings- with aspect to the academic side of things- without making God the main focus of my speculation. This morning as I read my Bible in the car, it suddenly occurred to me that one of the most important decisions I would ever make, I was making with a misshapen priority list. I have been so focused on how ‘good’ the school I would be going to is that I have put the more important things- being in the place God wants me to be and in a conducive spiritual environment- on the bottom of my list. I admit that throughout the day it was a difficult pill to swallow- the idea that things would most likely mot go according to my plan- but I also felt a level of release in that I was finally allowing God to do with my life whatever He willed. It is such an important thing for us to integrate God in every decision we make especially in this times we are in. We cannot afford to make careless decisions- no matter how little they may seem.
‘The night is far spent, the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light’
-Romans 13:12

Leave a Reply

